Hello world!

 Who would have ever thought I would be sitting here posting my very first blog (not me)? So, what does one blog about for the first time; I chose self-publishing. Dum-dum-dum! Being an avid tweeter, I pretty much know how most people feel when it comes to self-publishing. Before I discuss those reasons, I will first discuss why I chose this path.

 Self-publishing has never been as accessible as it is now.  The Amazon Kindle, Sony Reader and the Barnes & Noble Nook have made it possible to get your completed work out there and virtually in the hands of millions. Even those that don’t own an e-reader can still download the apps to their phones or computers. With bookstores fading away, digital books are taking the world by storm. The beauty of self-publishing for me is the fact that I make all the decisions. I decide the price of the book and I decide how I am going to market the book. Yes, I am responsible for doing all the work, but I look forward to the satisfaction of making it work.

 Now, I know many people feel that self-publishing is selling out and taking the easy road; that those who do it are skipping the steps that so many other authors have taken. Finding an agent by sending out query letters and waiting for that agent to sell my idea to publishers was just not the route for me. I don’t begrudge all of those that have taken this route. I can only imagine your joy and happiness when you find an agent who loves your work and is able to get a publishing house to buy it. I just want my book out there. I want people to read it and I want to write many more books. :O)

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. runningman2010
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 21:56:17

    I think self publishing ebooks is the wave of the future. I totally agree with you that it is great to be able to control how you market your book. The harder, and smarter you work, the more successful you will be. Good luck to you!

    Reply

  2. Lisette
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 22:05:03

    Congratulations on getting your blog launched. I am so proud of you! I can’t wait to read your blogs as you wend your way toward being a proud author.

    Reply

  3. Ellie
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 22:22:25

    That’s great! I wish you every success. Can’t wait to read more about your journey! Blessings!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Tweets that mention Hello world! « Author Tiffany -- Topsy.com
  5. Abby Blom
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 23:14:59

    YAY and CONGRATS! Just waiting for the book now :o)

    Reply

  6. Book Momma
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 03:29:47

    So glad you have started your blog. I really look forward to seeing where your self-publishing journey leads you. Let me know when you need someone to read your book! I would love to. Glad we’ve become Twitter friends!

    Take care,
    Ashley

    Reply

  7. Julia King
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 19:18:26

    Yah for your blog being up and running. I thought about self-pub but decided to go through a publisher. We are all brave in our attempts to get our story heard. Good luck dear twister. We will get each other published for sure!

    Reply

  8. giuseppe bianco
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 19:25:43

    I could not agree with you more. I wanted my book out there, so I put it out there. Like you said, it is great to go the traditional route, but I just felt it would take so long, so I decided to put it all on a site. I need to look into formatting it as an ebook. I’m following you on twitter. Good luck and keep me posted.

    Reply

  9. Kristi Stern
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 04:59:28

    I love your blog! Thanks for the sneak peek, it was amazing and your book is going to be fabulous!

    I actually think that independent publishing is the braver way to go. Yes, you get to make all the rules, etc… but you don’t have anyone backing you so, I say what you and so many of my fav authors have done is incredibly brave. I give you props for taking this road. You have to do what is right for you and I don’t think any other author should have a say in it.

    It’s your book and how you market it is your business. I have a Kindle, so I am invested in independent authors but even if I didn’t have a Kindle, it still wouldn’t make that much difference, not at this point.

    So, I feel as if you’ve chosen the harder road to travel and I wish you luck, although, I have feeling you’ll do just fine.

    Take care Tiffany

    Kristi

    Reply

  10. Kristi Stern
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 06:19:54

    My question of the day that I cut and copied went poof~ it’s late so I’ll ask tomorrow :O]

    Reply

  11. Tymothy Longoria
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 03:44:56

    In the end or hopefully before the end of it all* you’ll have had the first hand experience of sp. You will have the power to choose where you wan to go.

    ALSO, you will have had a PUBLISHED book! Regardless of “how” it was published. I’m sure you are very well aware that nowadays, the MAJOR houses are looking over the fence at truly remarkable, fresh SELF-PUBLISHED books out there! That enables you to reach MORE, and have more opportunities. Self-publishing is no longer a stump in the road but a different way, for some, down the same path of success.

    The fire is growing and I applaud your tenacity.

    Best wishes!

    Keep us up to date!

    Reply

  12. Michele
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 12:11:13

    I know this is an older entry, but I have to thank you for it. I am a writer as well and I’ve been agonizing for a long time over self-publishing. I, personally, think it is fantastic, but I hear so many people call it “vanity” publishing. I’ve heard a lot of flack for authors that do this and it makes me terrified to take that road.

    However, I have a personal adoration for indie authors. Some of my favorite books are self-published! I will keep this blog in mind when I finish my MS and am getting the courage to self-publish 🙂

    Of course, your book sounds amazing. I will be purchasing Meant to Be for my Kindle in about 3 seconds…

    Michele
    twitter : bleedingheart88

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

